April 1, 2012 by Leanne Vogel August 3, 2017
Biryani is a rice-based dish made with spices, rice (usually basmati) and meat, fish, eggs or vegetables. It is naturally gluten-free and in South India, it’s usually served with hard boiled eggs. In my version of healthy egg briyani, I cut down the oils, replaced the milk and toned down a bit of the spiciness.
Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Refined Sugar-free, Soy-free, Sugar-free, Vegetarian
To make vegan, replace ghee with coconut oil or grapeseed oil and omit the egg.
I’ve had a really hard time finding masala leaves at home. I’ve replaced the masala leaf for 6 curry leaves and it’s still been really good.
Ghee is made from dairy, but all lactose and casein is removed in the clarification process. Use your own personal judgement when opting for a dairy-free diet. If you’ve chosen to omit, use vegan suggestion above.
Calories from Fat:
Hi! I’m Leanne (RHN FBCS)
a Keto Nutritionist, host of The Keto Diet Podcast, and best-selling author of The Keto Diet & Keto for Women. I want to live in a world where every woman has access to knowledge to better her health.