Why I Don’t Eat Dairy on Keto

Why I Don’t Eat Dairy on Keto #keto #lowcarb

Why my approach to the keto diet is dairy-free and what consuming dairy can do to your body.

It’s no secret that the standard ketogenic diet uses dairy. Cheese, butter, cream, you name it. And, while some people may do really, really good on that, a lot of people don’t. But, they continue to eat it because a) they don’t know that the dairy is causing issues for them, and b) they don’t know that there’s an alternative.

Going dairy-free on your keto diet may be for you if you’re…

  • Having a hard time becoming fat adapted
  • Constantly dealing with eczema, diarrhea, itchy skin, or ear infections
  • Trying to balance an autoimmune condition
  • Stuck at a weight plateau
  • Dealing with inflamed sinuses
  • and more…

I created this video in April for the launch of my keto audiobooks and shared it on YouTube but it was never posted on the blog. The most popular question I get is why my ketogenic diet protocol does not include dairy. So, here’s the video!


  • The benefits of consuming high-quality dairy sources
  • Why eating dairy is bad
  • When we should stop eating dairy
  • Signs you’re allergic or sensitive to dairy
  • How to eat low-carb and dairy-free


Do you practice a dairy-free approach to your ketogenic diet? What steps did you take to go dairy-free? Let’s chat about it in the comments!

Pin It
Balanced Keto Weekly Meal Plans
The Keto Diet by Leanne Vogel

Comments | Leave Your Comment

  1. Hy!, I understand that people that are lactose intolerant can eat goat and sheep dairy products. The problem would be in cow´s milk casein and lactose, which is the glucose of that animal produce. And I know that ghee is for celiac and lactose intolerant persons. Could you please explain why an individual should avoid/not consume these dairy foods?
    And question aside, Can a subject eat nuts and seeds (poppy, sesame, pumpkin and flax seeds)?

    • Hi there! Usually, people avoid dairy because they’re allergic to it. Ghee can be a great option, but some ghees are not filtered thoroughly enough so they are not truly dairy-free. Some people choose to avoid dairy even though they aren’t allergic to it. It’s totally up to the individual. All of the seeds you mentioned are great! Go for it :)

  2. I’m so glad I found your site! I have been dealing with painful abdominal bloating and constipation for YEARS and have gone to numerous doctors/GI specialists who always tell me to “eat more fiber and probiotics in yogurt/dairy”. It never works and I end up in the same boat. I finally eliminated dairy and gluten this week and I feel 100x better!! I’ll have to look at your site more, but from your video it seems like it might be the dairy that’s upsetting my stomach and causing pain. Thank you!!

    • Wow, I’m so happy for you! Good for you for staying determined and trying new things. Good luck getting to the bottom of it!

  3. Hi Leanne,

    Love your work as always. I bought your Leto beginning!! How do I determine if there’s inflammation? I would love to find out if I could handle dairy. My recent lab test came back with HDL 114 mg/dL LDL 269 but triglycerides 56 and hsCRP 0.12mg/L. Is the LDL a red flag? Would love to have you share your insights on this. Thanks Leanne!! Xoxo

    • Thanks so much, Iris! Do you have Fat Fueled, too? This book outlines many of the ideal levels for various tests (including cholesterol and hsCRP). Much of this info is found in chapter 4 and chapter 16. I hope this helps!

      • Hellooo Leanne,

        Thanks alot for your reply. Meant a lot to me!! I got clarity from Jimmy Moore’s book. Thanks for all your great work! Keep it going! I’m a huge fan and appreciate everything you do, including your podcast, totally!!


        • Thanks so much for the support, Iris! So glad you were able to get the answer to your question. :)

  4. Organic Valley: Purity Farms Clarified Butter – Casein Free
    Tel#1-888-444-MILK. Organic Valley, a farmer owned cooperative, La Farge, WI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *